Sheila Ballantyne

This project is made possible with funding by the Government of Ontario and through eCampusOntario’s support of the Virtual Learning Strategy. To learn more about the Virtual Learning Strategy visit:

We would love to hear how you are using this pressbook! Please email us:

The motivation for this pressbook is primarily to provide virtual teaching materials for post secondary earth science educators. Our methods and approach shifted focus several times as our team changed and various challenges were overcome.  We hope this book provides an accessible geological resource to anyone who wants to learn more about the Central Metasedimentary Belt in Ontario. Answer keys to the thin sections presented and some more in-depth descriptions are available to instructors by emailing:

Many people had important roles in making this project a reality! The team was led by Sheila Ballantyne, but it was Dr. Debora Rios who first put the concept together and created the successful grant proposal. Professor Paul Ashwell, Professor Heidi Daxberger, and Sheila Ballantyne conducted the field work for all the sites in this book, including collecting field data, rock samples, and making the 3D scans. These three also cut the rock samples and organised the making of the thin sections. Dr. Daxberger led the way on creating the 3D outcrop and hand samples, and Ms Ballantyne conducted the Scanning Electron Microscope work. Dr. Rebecca Moumblow (McMaster) and Dr. Kim Tate (Royal Ontario Museum) provided support and feedback throughout the project. We had five excellent undergraduate students help make this project possible: Paolo Attanasio made incredible 3D hand sample models, Jessica Wanzo created the excellent You Tube videos of the rotating thin sections, Aneila Ghanie cataloged and described the thin sections, as well as Andreia Hamid and Peng Patrick Cheng who did field work with us. We are appreciative for all of Marek Velits and Danielle Carranza assistance with contracts and finances. Thanks to Yanan Liu for assistance with the microprobe and Peter Mitrakos with the Scanning Electron Microscope. Thanks to Laurie Harrison, Henry Ivry, and Will Heikoop at Digital Learning Innovation at U of T. The person that deserves the most credit, who brought most of this project together into its final form is Phillip Ruscica. The entire team is incredibly thankful for the significant efforts made by Mr. Ruscica.


Go to the: Accessibility Statement